Friday, July 31, 2009

Corset Making Class

1 day, 1 corset! YAY!

I'm really pleased with the overall fit and shaping that this corset gives. It is super comfy, although I rushed the lacing job and it's on a bit crooked.


The one thing I need to change (probably) is expand the bottom edge over my hips. It was late at night, the lacing was a rush job, and I was terribly bloated, so it's entirely possible that it actually will be right, I just need to try it on when not hot and tired and cranky! :)

The Haul


Sparkly buckles...


AND a ZIBIE HEAD!!!!!!


Changeable silk taffeta (peach w/sage weft, and purple w/black)


Embroidered silk taffeta


Sheer cotton print and green silk taffeta


Stripey silk (taffeta?? It's heavier, and the pattern is woven, I'm not quite sure what to call it!)


Cream lace for engageants (maybe?)


Twill tape of all colors and sizes!!!


Black lace


Silk Organdy!!! Will probably become ruffs


Random Trim! (100 yds for $10, I couldn't resist)


Stripey silk taffeta


About a zillion yards of black lace for my possible eventual civil war mourning gown.


The antique lace that b0dice_g0ddess and I split....


Stripey cotton for.....???? It's really not as drab as it looks in this picture.


TONS of this embroidered net. I'll think of something to do with it! At least a part of it is going to go to an Edwardian.


This is a terrible picture of this fabric! It's actually a very pretty cream and pink stripe.


Yards and yards and yards of dusty blue sheer cotton. Destined to be come a CW day dress. (Will be starting this next!)

Tuesday, July 28, 2009

LA! Fabric!!!....SHOPPING!!!!!!!!

I spent *every penny* that I came with. :D And I could have spent a lot, lot more!

And Holly, guess what?! There is not only blocks of fabric shopping, there is also blocks and blocks of bead and jewelry shopping too!!!


These pictures don't even begin to describe the enormity of the shopping potential!


See all that fabric?! It's like that on both sides of the street...for BLOCKS!!!


An aerial view from the parking garage...


b0dice_g0ddess was an excellent tour guide! There are only a couple of regrets, (as in didn't buy something that I should have, not the other way around!!!) I had a fantastically wonderful time!

I am really super tired, and my poor phone is having a hard time playing at modem and uploading all these pictures, so the stash haul pictures will have to wait until I can get home and use some beefy internet-age.

Monday, July 27, 2009

Effigy Corset Progress

I used wire nippers to cut the reeds do size...


And then used my dogs nail file to smooth and round the edges....


The finished reed boning


All the reeds inserted into the casings..


Closeer view....the two front pieces were extremely bowed from the reeds, so I rolled the pieces up, tied them together, and soaked them in warm water. I let them dry overnight.


And the reeds straightened out quite nicely! The back is still a bit bubbly, while the front is nice and flat! I've whipped the right front piece to the back. I still need to go back and whip the linings together, but it's coming along!


Yay! After I get the pieces completely attached, the next step will be to add the shoulder straps, slit the tabs and start on the binding. What I'm really not looking forward to is all the hand-bound eyelets. I'm not very good at them--wish me luck!

The never-ending pea pods adventure

I started this scroll at the beginning of the Scribal A&S nights a few months ago. I finally started on laying down color on my pea pod scroll a couple of weeks ago. On Tuesday, I finished up the shading on the pods, the little sticks, the pea blossom, and started the ground colors for the acanthus.


After I finish up the lining, I'll be putting down gold for the little peas, like it is in the original. I still need to do the shading where the sticks 'pierce' the parchment.


I have not decided what color I want the bar in the acanthus to be. I'll probably either do the brown of the sticks, or possibly gold....dunno yet. :)


I have no idea what I'm going to do with it when I'm done, probably donate it to the Barony as a scroll blank. I'm getting kind of attached to it, though!

Sunday, July 26, 2009

CC Countdown! (and Other)

I made my split drawers, and then decided I hated the gathering...unfortunatly I had already done the buttonhole, so I could only undo the waistband so far. It ended up pretty good in the end, however. I love the lace at the hem, it's totally cheezy cute. The split goes all the way around the crotch, but when they're on, you can't even tell. I'm really excited that absolutly all sewing is done, and I have 3.5 days to go! It feels weird, almost like I'm cheating.

:D



And the red dress is done! Once again, I forgot to take picture of the whole ensemble while it was on! After this picture, I added lace to the sleeve edge.



Things I need to do (X is finished!!!)

Underclothes/Accessories:
X-Wash gutchies
X-make drawers
X-sew buttons on petticoats
X-starch petticoats
Current/Ongoing - iron petticoats (I've done both of the 'easy' ones...all I have left is the flounced petticoat. I'm intimidated! I bought a new ironing board cover, since all the ironing I did last night finally did in my old cover.)
X-Make hairpieces
X-Wash shawls
X-Wash cap

Red Velvet:
X-Tack neckline and sleeves
X-Make lace inserts (sleeves)
X-Sew skirt

Purple cotton:
X-Sew on hook & eyes (This would be done, but I only had 2 hooks, I need three!)
Starch dress - I think I'm going to wait to do this for when we get there, no point in starching and ironing dress only to have it packed away in a hot car for 12+ hours!)

Other:
Current - Dye hair. I'm going to wake Holly up from her nap as soon as I'm done posting to help me dye my hair again.
Eyebrows - hopefully will do this tonight!
Ongoing - Pack!!!! (I'm slowly gathering all the stuff I need to pack. I am SO paranoid I'll forget something!


******

Ok, now the more different other stuff. I showed up late (by 15 minutes!!) to the Desserts competition. All the time, money, and energy! I just about cried my eyes out in front of everybody. I was so crushed. But, I set up anyway, and cooked a whole shload of cakes for anyone who would eat them, and it turned out super fun in the end. There was a whole bank of people watching me cook. ;)

I didn't end up with a single cake left over, and I have the feeling that I could have doubled the total number of cakes, and still not had any leftovers!

I have TONS and TONS of butter and clotted cream left over, though. I need to start giving it away, there is far too much for two people to eat!

Sunday, July 19, 2009

CC Countdown!

I starched all my petticoats again, since the summer heat has taken it's toll on the almost 4-month old starching job I did. They stand up again! :) I just need to get them all ironed up nice.


I'm almost completely done with the red dress. I spent today fiddling with the bodice and getting the skirt underway. I got the neckline pinned. I'm not completely happy with the way it turned out in the end, but as a first attempt at not only this specific technique, but also a first for the period.


And another view of the pinning...


There are some fitting issues, but they're mostly hidden. My list of dislikes:
-I hate the back of the sleeves. I didn't cut a deep enough curve to fit my armscye
-I'm dissapointed that the neckline doesn't lie as flat as I'd like it to. Steaming the pleats helped a bit
-I wish I had cut the skirt a smidge fuller. I didn't realize how poufy all my skirts would end up after all the starching.
-I cut the back of the bodice up a smidge (ok, more like 1- 1 1/2") too high, the skirt gaps...unfortunatly, I'll have to add hooks and eyes to the skirt and bodice to keep the gaposis to a minimum.
-I made the back of the neckline a bit too big, and I have to keep the shoulders pulled down quite tightly to keep it looking like it's supposed to.
-The bottom of the bodice ended up with a weird slight flare at the bottom, so it looks kinda weird. :(

I'm not wearing my corset, and it's not pulled very tight, but you kinda get the idea. I originally was going to tack up the sleeves for a layered pouf, but I think I like it better without. Also, I tried adding lace to the neckline, but I wasn't too fond of it, so I think I'll leave the lace for the sleeves only.


I tacked the neckline pleats with a weird reverse blind stitch I kinda made up. (I'm sure it's an actual stitch -- I've just never used it before, and I don't really know what to call it!)


Neckline half the way done...


Bodice after tacking, clipping, and steaming the neckline.


I got my hairpieces and headwear done! I need to remember to dye my hair before I go!


I am not sure if I'm going to wear the hairpieces with the bonnet or not, but I think it is kinda cute!


I put on the whole kit 'n kaboodle this afternoon, but I forgot to take pictures. I'm sure I'll be putting it all on at least once more before CC, so I'll try to remember to take some pictures!

Things I need to do (X is finished!!!)

Underclothes/Accessories:
Wash gutchies
make drawers (?)
X-sew buttons on petticoats
X-starch petticoats
iron petticoats
X-Make hairpieces
X-Wash shawls
X-Wash cap

Red Velvet:
X-Tack neckline and sleeves
Make lace inserts (sleeves)
CURRENT - Sew skirt

Purple cotton:
Sew on hook & eyes
Starch dress